top of page

Day 2 | Busy is an Understatement

First of all, I cannot feel my feet. The youth correspondents and their advisers of WJMC left the campus at 8 am and did not return for 14 hours. My feet hate me; however, my mind and heart were touched through this experience today. The day's agenda really began with the empowering speech by Hoda Kotb, the host of the Today Show. There had been an underlying excitement throughout the campus about this infamous "Hoda Kotb" speech, and it lived up to its rumors. Her speech was funny, fitting her personality, yet it taught us the importance of never giving up. Yes, everyone has heard the cliche lecture of not giving up, but this was different. Kotb was real, honest, about this part of life. She told us that rejection is normal, that in her words "it's not about the fall, its about what happens afterwords." Right as she began her speech I knew that I would be learning life lessons from her that I would remember and actually apply to my life. Hoda Kotb may never see this, but I would still like to personally thank her for doing this for us correspondents every year. It really means something, and she is living up to that stranger's advice.

*Pictured above is the Lincoln Memorial as the sun sets.

After the speech and lunch, we all headed out to visit the White House and then a "twilight" monument tour ("twilight" is in quotations because the majority of it was in daylight, no complaints though). I felt like such a tourist in my own state of VA while my color group buddies and I took picture after picture of the well known building. Yet, when two street performers pulled up to the front of the White House, I was more than willing to pull out my camera. Two young men danced to techno music and performed odd contortion to an awestruck crowd. My mind was blown and I quickly fell in love - those street performers felt like the heart of DC. I also witnessed two peaceful protests, one for Black Lives Matter and another for an unknown cause. Even though WJMC did not intend for us to witness this, I feel like this day would not have been so full without those people on the streets. The people are who make their environment, and they gave DC vibes you don't find in my little town. Sadly we had to leave before seeing the end of the men's performance, but we did see more sites. I saw the incredible World War ll Memorial and the Vietnam Memorial which touched home considering my father is a veteran of the military. Then the long day ended at the beautiful Lincoln Memorial. Fun fact, Abraham Lincoln is my favorite president so I was very excited to finally meet him in person. The Memorial surpassed my expectations, and I know I have to come back again to relive the atmosphere surrounding ol' Abe. Today marks yet another successful day of WJMC, and another night I am sleep deprived. I will never forget some of the events I lived through today,and I know this conference is already helping me grow. Goodnight WJMC, see you 6:30 sharp.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page