top of page

The Anticipation

I would be lying if I said that I wan't nervous to attend the Washing Journalism and Media Conference at George Mason. I mean, who wouldn't be nervous? This conference is monumental, at least in comparison to my ordinary life. To meet new people, from all around the country, within the professional setting of the Conference is intimidating - I already do pretty well at not meeting new people within my own high school. However, even with all this nervous energy, I am still looking forward to this new experience. Of course it will be uncomfortable at first to meet new people, but how can you make friends, make memories, without originally starting off as strangers? Who knows, I may meet my new life-long best friend, or not, but that's not really the point. This Conference is an opportunity to experience new things, to learn about the world and myself, and I intend to take full advantage of that. Not everyone gets this opportunity. I'm looking forward to meeting Hoda Kotb, the co-anchor of the fourth hour of NBC’s TODAY, and Susan Goldberg, the Editor in Chief of National Geographic Magazine, and any yet-to-be-announced speakers too. Also, how cool is it that we will get to visit the National Geographic Headquarters? Every time I get an email from Elena Johnson, the Program Director, I get excited because she brings news that makes the WJMC experience sound even better. So to sum this up, yes I am nervous, but I am also excited to see where this goes. Hopefully the next time I check in I will be able to confirm this excitement and more.

Talk to you soon.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page